How I Self-Improve as a Software Developer

How I Self-Improve as a Software Developer

You've probably heard of or experienced tutorial hell or tutorial purgatory as a software developer. Aside from procrastination, one of the leading causes of under-productivity and under-improvement in the field is tutorial hell.

If staying competitive is a goal, every developer should strive to improve. One significant advantage we have as developers is the wealth of resources at our disposal. However, if you don't know what works for you, this huge advantage can quickly turn into a disadvantage.

While having a strong desire to learn is essential, having access to the most up-to-date information and tools is also beneficial. We live in a highly connected world, making it easier than ever to learn new ways to develop, improve, and grow as a software engineer. Continue reading to learn about some of the most useful online tools that have aided my development as a software engineer.

First, I'd like to issue a disclaimer.

What works for me may not be suitable for you.

Although this may appear to be a simple concept, understanding it will save you a lot of time and stress. So let's get started.

I began my software engineering journey by watching YouTube videos. I watched every HTML, CSS, and Javascript tutorial I could find. But this quickly became problematic because each video had its own path, leaving me to figure out how to move from video to video.

I hated reading code books, especially when they were about building practical things, but reading is unavoidable; I have a computer science degree, so I know. I discovered early on that I preferred tutorials with a clear learning path from beginning to end, and these were the types of tutorials I was looking for.

This is for anyone who wants to follow a structured learning path.

If you want to improve your skills as a developer, I highly recommend this course. You get the best structured fullstack developer course, as well as a functional community that is concerned with your learning. One thing I like about this course is how they use check-ins and notifications to keep you accountable and on track. You have a course adviser whose sole responsibility it is to ensure that you stay in class, complete the course, and assist you with any difficulties that arise. It was extremely beneficial to me, and I am confident that it will be beneficial to anyone.

Scrimba makes software development enjoyable. It's difficult to lose interest in learning with their unique, interactive code-along approach. This specific front-end career path was meticulously planned, and it is guaranteed to get anyone from absolute beginner to intermediate as quickly as possible.

  • Canva

Canva, in my opinion, is the most underrated graphics design tool on the market. In terms of intermediate graphics design, it can do anything you want. Canva is where I do all of my design work. I discovered a dedicated YouTube channel that teaches how to do anything with Canva. It's called "Design With Canva." You'd be surprised at how much you can learn to do with Canva.

When it comes to going from zero to hero in Web3 development, I've discovered that Learnweb3Dao has the most straightforward and well-structured learning path. They use a college degree format in which you start as a freshman and graduate as a senior while earning rewards in a fun and engaging web3 course.

I could go on and on, but I'd like to end with some honourable mentions.

1) Builspace -Earn rewards while learning web3 by creating amazing projects.

2) Pointer.gg -Earn money by learning web3

3) Alchemy's Road to Web3 -A 10-week web3 training program